Art Life in the Country

https://i0.wp.com/surreyopenstudios.org.uk/wp-content/uploads/2022/06/IMG_00603.jpeg?resize=600%2C600&ssl=1

The Art Life in the Country Studio is based at the home of Monique Fischer Birley with the glorious views of the South Downs from the cottage providing artistic inspiration throughout the year.

Monique and Tina Collins have been creating together (and separately) for many years and are displaying a wide selection of completed paintings and artworks along with sketchbooks and WIPs for the duration of the open studio.  The two friends share a love of life drawing and painting plein air and inspire and bounce off each other to produce figurative, observational work along with more expressive and abstracted pieces.  Containment of style, subject and media is challenging as both artists enjoy a full range of media including oils, acrylics, pastels, watercolour, inks and monotype prints. So, it’s a full and eclectic studio with a wide range of artworks on view.

The atmosphere is relaxed with tea, coffee and homemade cake to welcome visitors and both artists love to talk art and techniques with anyone who is interested so visitors are always guaranteed a warm reception.  The work is displayed in several rooms in the heart of the cottage with larger pieces positioned in the garden where guests can take the opportunity to explore, say hi to the chickens, and check out the vista.




        

Work for sale
£2 - £1500, Credit Card, Debit Card, Cash

Visiting information
Gravel path and country cottage so wheelchair access may be difficult. Indoor capacity around 10 people plus a large garden with seating will be available.

Place to eat
Petworth is nearby with a wide range of pubs and restaurants.

Transport Details
n/a

Area
South
Featured on Artist Trail
Dorking Town Trail

4 Hills Green Cottages
Kirdford
West Sussex
RH14 0JN

Telephone: 01403820337

  • Saturday 11th June Open
  • Sunday 12th June Open
  • Monday 13th June Closed
  • Tuesday 14th June Closed
  • Wednesday 15th June Open
  • Thursday 16th June Open
  • Friday 17th June Open
  • Saturday 18th June Open
  • Sunday 19th June Open
  • Monday 20th June Closed
  • Tuesday 21st June Closed
  • Wednesday 22nd June Open
  • Thursday 23rd June Open
  • Friday 24th June Open
  • Saturday 25th June Open
  • Sunday 26th June Open

Art Life in the Country

2CVF+M7 Petworth, UK

View Studio


Artists at this Studio