Carla’s Favourite Things

https://i0.wp.com/surreyopenstudios.org.uk/wp-content/uploads/2021/12/deep-purple-scaled.jpg?resize=600%2C600&ssl=1

I am an artist based in Chobham, Surrey. My artwork ranges in a variety of media, from oil painting to tempera, watercolours, acrylics and mixed media. It is mainly figurative, though some of my pieces can be abstractions of figurative forms. I work on objects, single items or still life, and landscapes. I do not mimic reality and look for a personal vision of shapes and colours sometimes disregarding proportions. Impressionistic views merge with a surrealist vision in my work and a poetic interpretation of reality. Sketching and drawing are always my first steps towards a finished work. Then I choose the media that best suits the composition. Sometimes I try different media for the same subject to see which one interprets the form and feeling I wish to convey. The picture needs to speak to the viewer, communicating multiple sensations and engaging them in the story. Then I choose the media that best suits the composition. I am also a writer and my inspiration, both in writing and in painting, comes from where I live, what I do and the people I meet. It can be a view of the English landscape, flowers on a wall, working in my back garden, or an encounter. I am also very much inspired by travels, the changing of the seasons, exhibitions and memories. I think most of my work is a revisitation of memories of what I saw and experienced in the recent or distant past. I also produce craft work that ranges from crochet to needle work (embroidery, bags and clothes). Cards are available from £ 1.

I run pop-in workshops for children of all ages: card, puppet and book making.

Suggested donation £ 1-2




              

Work for sale
£ 1 - 200 cash only cards available from £ 1

Visiting information
The venue has a large car park, it is free The room is at the second floor but there is a lift

Place to eat
There are cafes and restaurants nearby in Chobham High street, five minutes' walk

Transport Details
Public transport to and from Woking and Knaphill: 73, 39a

Area
North

Chobham Community Centre
Macmahon Cl, Chobham, Woking GU24 8NG

Telephone: 07775890508

  • Saturday 11th June Open
  • Sunday 12th June Open
  • Monday 13th June Closed
  • Tuesday 14th June Closed
  • Wednesday 15th June Closed
  • Thursday 16th June Closed
  • Friday 17th June Closed
  • Saturday 18th June Open
  • Sunday 19th June Open
  • Monday 20th June Closed
  • Tuesday 21st June Closed
  • Wednesday 22nd June Closed
  • Thursday 23rd June Closed
  • Friday 24th June Closed
  • Saturday 25th June Closed
  • Sunday 26th June Closed

Carla's Favourite Things

Chobham, Woking GU24 8NG, UK

View Studio


Artists at this Studio


Workshops at this Studio

Workshop for children

Workshop for children

Workshop for children

Workshop for children