Dawn Hajittofi

https://i2.wp.com/surreyopenstudios.org.uk/wp-content/uploads/2021/01/IMG_9222-1.png?resize=600%2C600&ssl=1

From my own life experiences and the stories of others, the journey through life’s challenges has become the theme of my work.  We all face adversity, loss, and disappointments – most of us have experienced brokenness which inevitably leaves a mark.   

My work acknowledges both the unpredictable and unexpected nature of life’s events and conveys the possibilities of hope and transformation.  Each piece is thrown in earthenware, altered and distorted – accidental marks and imperfections are encouraged.  I decorate the pieces with abstract marks using a combination of materials including slips, underglazes and oxides.     The gilt references the ancient Japanese art of “Kintsugi” in which a treasured pot, if broken, can be repaired using gold.  This is a much-used metaphor for our own lives – a reminder to stay hopeful when things fall apart and to celebrate the flaws and missteps of life.

‘Kintsugi is not the art of erasure – the invisible mend, the erasing of a mistake – but rather the marking of a loss.’  Edmund de Waal

 




  

Work for sale
Work is available to purchase from £30 to £200. Card, cash, cheque payments all accepted. Second and sale items available. A donation from sales goes to the 'BEME PROJECT' https://bemeproject.org

Visiting information
The studio will be open Fridays and Saturdays between 11am and 5pm, and Sunday afternoons by appointment between 2-5 pm. Parking available

Place to eat
We are on the outskirts of Dorking town which has plenty of places to eat.

Transport Details
Unfortunately no public transport near the studio.

Area
Central

DEEPDENE END
19 Deepdene Wood
DORKING
SURREY
RH5 4BG

Telephone: 07835303491 or 01306 888288

  • Saturday 5th June Open
  • Sunday 6th June Closed
  • Monday 7th June Closed
  • Tuesday 8th June Closed
  • Wednesday 9th June Closed
  • Thursday 10th June Closed
  • Thursday 10th June (Evening) Closed
  • Friday 11th June Open
  • Saturday 12th June Open
  • Sunday 13th June Closed
  • Monday 14th June Closed
  • Tuesday 15th June Closed
  • Wednesday 16th June Closed
  • Thursday 17th June Closed
  • Thursday 17th June (Evening) Closed
  • Friday 18th June Open
  • Saturday 19th June Open
  • Sunday 20th June Closed

Dawn Hajittofi

19 Deepdene Wood, Dorking, UK

View Studio


Artists at this Studio