Poterie à la Carte

https://i0.wp.com/surreyopenstudios.org.uk/wp-content/uploads/2022/01/20220110_144636-scaled.jpg?resize=600%2C600&ssl=1

I am a studio potter working in Holmwood, near Dorking.

Encouraged by an excellent teacher, I experimented with a wide range of techniques while developing my skills at adult education classes.

On retirement, I moved to Provence for a while and set up a pottery studio, working at the time with hand-painted earthenware.

My main body of work is currently stoneware: wheel-thrown domestic items such as bowls and mugs are individually decorated and reduction-fired in a gas kiln. Decoration with slips and oxides is inspired by the natural world: landscapes, trees, coastlines, flowers, birds and fish are common themes. Handbuilt items often incorporate sculptural elements and I make a selection of small frost-proof items to bring a little creative magic to the garden.

I enjoy opportunities to try out ideas that are new to me: a recent Instagram challenge to produce 30 different plates on set themes was particularly inspiring. Commissions are accepted: house signs and fairy doors are popular.

My work is exhibited at local artisan markets, craft fairs and village shows.

Visits to the studio are by arrangement only.




        

Work for sale
£5 ~ £60

Visiting information
There is parking for several cars. Wheelchair access is possible along a slightly uneven path. The display area is under a gazebo on grass. Please leave dogs and bikes at the gate.

Place to eat
Dorking is four miles to the North.

Transport Details
The studio is half a mile from the A24 (93 bus route)

Area
Central

East Lodge, Betchets Green
South Holmwood, nr Dorking
RH5 4LF

Telephone: 07740 069209

  • Saturday 11th June Open
  • Sunday 12th June Open
  • Monday 13th June Closed
  • Tuesday 14th June Closed
  • Wednesday 15th June Closed
  • Thursday 16th June Closed
  • Friday 17th June Closed
  • Saturday 18th June Open
  • Sunday 19th June Open
  • Monday 20th June Closed
  • Tuesday 21st June Closed
  • Wednesday 22nd June Closed
  • Thursday 23rd June Closed
  • Friday 24th June Closed
  • Saturday 25th June Open
  • Sunday 26th June Open

Poterie à la Carte

5MQC+83 Dorking, UK

View Studio