Sarah Cox – sjcoxart

https://i0.wp.com/surreyopenstudios.org.uk/wp-content/uploads/2021/12/Screenshot_20210520-195248_Instagram.jpg?resize=600%2C600&ssl=1
I like to contrast elements of tight, structured paint work with loose, atmospheric washes and gestural marks. Colour and texture are both dominant elements in my paintings. Expect to see a mixture of sweeping brush strokes, palette knife work, dripping, scratched back surfaces and washy pools of paint. Sights, sounds and smells in the landscape connect to our memories. Hedgerows filled with blackberries, the smell of cut grass, fresh rain on dry earth and the swishing and swaying of crops in the wind all transport me back to my childhood. Like the patina of time, my work is multi-layered and built up and scraped back over time. Base layers are often revealed in part and this adds both depth and textural variety to my outcomes. Past experiences resonate with the present.
Surrey Artist of the Year Finalist 2021.
Wildcard in SkyArts Landscape Artist of the Year competition.
Awarded the Surrey Hills Enterprises Trade Mark.



              

Work for sale
All original paintings are for sale £200 - £2000. Greeting cards for sale. Debit/credit cards accepted.

Visiting information
Please park on the drive and follow the signs leading into the garden where Studio 49 is located. Covid friendly with a large garden to relax/wait in and refreshments will be offered upon your arrival.

Place to eat
Queen's Head in East Clandon, Onslow Arms in West Clandon - 5 minute drive away https://www.queensheadeastclandon.co.uk https://www.onslowarmsclandon.co.uk/ The Ivy or The March Hare in Guildford - 10 minute drive away https://theivyguildford.com/ https://marchhareguildford.com/ Refreshments provided at Sarah Cox's art studio

Transport Details
Nearest station - London Road, Guildford - 25 minute walk away

Area
West
Featured on Artist Trail
Merrow Art Trail

49 Merrow Woods
Merrow
Guildford
GU1 2LQ

Telephone: 07832259595

  • Saturday 11th June Open
  • Sunday 12th June Open
  • Monday 13th June Closed
  • Tuesday 14th June Closed
  • Wednesday 15th June Closed
  • Thursday 16th June Closed
  • Friday 17th June Open
  • Saturday 18th June Open
  • Sunday 19th June Open
  • Monday 20th June Closed
  • Tuesday 21st June Closed
  • Wednesday 22nd June Closed
  • Thursday 23rd June Closed
  • Friday 24th June Closed
  • Saturday 25th June Open
  • Sunday 26th June Open

Sarah Cox - sjcoxart

49 Merrow Woods, Guildford GU1 2LQ, UK

View Studio


Artists at this Studio