Sophie Artemis

https://i2.wp.com/surreyopenstudios.org.uk/wp-content/uploads/2021/02/A-Matter-of-Life-and-Death-3.png?resize=600%2C600&ssl=1

A working studio in central Guildford, 5 minute’s walk from the main station.  Maker of tunnel books and dioramas about Love, using peep holes, pop ups and scenography to draw the viewer into the depths of the story. Work is held in the Tate and V&A library collections. Artist, book artist, painter and writer. Watts Gallery’s Artist in residence at a women’s prison in Surrey. Drawing, Illustration and Book Arts tutor.

There will be free demonstrations of bookbinding, folding tunnel and telescopic books, Turkish folds, Flag Books and other inspiring paper structures during the June open studio event.




        

Work for sale
£20 upwards. Cash and Card

Visiting information
The studio has a small step up. The road approaching the studio has a narrow pavement where you pass the trees making wheel chair access limited.

Place to eat
Brasil Vegano Cafe serving delicious coffees and vegan food is a 2 minute walk away.

Transport Details
Guildford main line station is a 5 minute walk away. Exit the back of the station towards the Cathedral and University. Guildford town centre 15 minutes walk. Bus 1 (Friary Centre to Cathedral, Tesco and the Royal Surrey Hospital) Bus stop:The Chase/ Old Palace Road stop and walk back (5 mins) or Denzil Road/Guildford Park Rd and walk forwards (5 mins). Free 2 hour parking bays on one side of the road (residents the other so please check).

Area
West
Featured on Artist Trail
Guildford Art Trail

12 Dunsdon Avenue
Guildford,
Surrey
GU2 7NX

  • Saturday 5th June Open
  • Sunday 6th June Open
  • Monday 7th June Closed
  • Tuesday 8th June Closed
  • Wednesday 9th June Closed
  • Thursday 10th June Closed
  • Thursday 10th June (Evening) Closed
  • Friday 11th June Closed
  • Saturday 12th June Open
  • Sunday 13th June Open
  • Monday 14th June Closed
  • Tuesday 15th June Closed
  • Wednesday 16th June Closed
  • Thursday 17th June Closed
  • Thursday 17th June (Evening) Closed
  • Friday 18th June Closed
  • Saturday 19th June Open
  • Sunday 20th June Open

Sophie Artemis

12 Dunsdon Avenue

View Studio


Artists at this Studio

Sophie Artemis

Book Artist and Painter