Vicky O’Leary Textiles

https://i0.wp.com/surreyopenstudios.org.uk/wp-content/uploads/2022/01/Vicky-OLeary-Lace-flower-1.jpg?resize=600%2C600&ssl=1

I take my inspiration from the beauty of nature. I want the viewer to be able to have a visual representation of those positive feelings we get when we are in nature. I want them to connect and value the nature surrounding them, to realise it’s potential to enhance our lives.

I demonstrate this through the layers I create, each one adding another story to the piece. I use paint and mark making in my backgrounds, before adding lots of texture through mixed media and stitch. Detailed elements of nature are added in the form of hand and free machine embroidery. I connect with my emotions and let this intuitively guide my stitching and choice of materials to produce pictures, greetings cards and wall hangings.

I am passionate about re-using everyday materials in my artwork. Where possible I work on second hand bed sheets. I love the fact that these have a history before I transform them by adding more layers to their story.

My art gives me the chance to slow down the pace of life, to be present, to observe, and to connect with the cloth that I am stitching in to. This helps to create a stitched journey for everyone to enjoy.




           

Work for sale
Price range from £3.50 - £180.00 Cash and credit cards accepted.

Visiting information
The garden studio is accessed via the garden path to the right of the house. Please note there are 2 steps into the studio.

Place to eat
The Limping Fox pub - Rushett Road The Angel Inn - Angel Road The Deli - Portsmouth Road

Transport Details
Bus K3,715,458 5 mins away.

Area
North
Featured on Artist Trail
Hampton Court Trail

2 Southville Road, Thames Ditton, Surrey KT7 0UL

Telephone: 07760424958

  • Saturday 11th June Open
  • Sunday 12th June Open
  • Monday 13th June Closed
  • Tuesday 14th June Closed
  • Wednesday 15th June Closed
  • Thursday 16th June Closed
  • Friday 17th June Closed
  • Saturday 18th June Open
  • Sunday 19th June Open
  • Monday 20th June Closed
  • Tuesday 21st June Closed
  • Wednesday 22nd June Closed
  • Thursday 23rd June Closed
  • Friday 24th June Closed
  • Saturday 25th June Closed
  • Sunday 26th June Closed

Vicky O'Leary Textiles

2 Southville Road, Thames Ditton Surrey KT7 0UL

View Studio


Artists at this Studio

Vicky O’Leary

Textile Artist


Workshops at this Studio

Embroidery Workshop