John Worth

https://saos2023.s3-accelerate.amazonaws.com/wp-content/uploads/2024/01/IMG_0887-600x600.jpeg

Artist Talk: Landscape, Music & Mark-Making

June 15 @ 3:00 pm4:00 pm

A free artist talk by John Worth.

As part of Surrey Artists Open Studio and in a collaboration with St Mary’s Primary School and St Mary’s Church, Chiddingfold, John will be giving a talk on painting & photography in the marquee in the sunny garden at Marlow Cottage in Chiddingfold.

The talk will cover the connection between the senses and our connection to landscape through vision, sounds and our human emotions and how they converge to produce artistic outputs.

The talk is aimed at families and anyone in the community with an interest in the arts.

With studios in both Chiddingfold and Lewes, John Worth is an abstract painter and photographer inspired by the vibration, rhythms and musicality inherent in nature, places and urban environments. He studied Photography at West Surrey College of Art & Design, 1989-92 (now the University for the Creative Arts, Farnham). John’s current body of work takes inspiration from the practice of daily walks in the South Downs he uses to underpin his artistic interrogations. By repeating the same journeys, taking photographs as he goes, he develops intimate connections with particular landscapes. The results are paintings, sketches and photographs that pay homage to the synergies of the rhythms he discovers in the contours of the landscape combined with the abstract qualities of the textures, light and shadow as they change through the seasons. Both walking and in the studio, music is important to his creative process; abstract paintings blend the sense of musicality he feels in the landscape itself with the landscape of his own heart and mind. A habit of producing daily sketches enables an immediate translation of his visceral experiences; a way of responding to the energies in the landscape; an occasion to witness the rhythmic and chaotic narrative of nature as it changes. ​ John’s influences include painters such as Cy Twombly, Antoni Tàpies and Paul Klee and his work speaks to the tradition of lyrical abstraction. The paintings have a stillness suggestive of surfaces aged by the passage of time. He builds these surfaces using his own techniques that include layering strips of linen or canvas and overlaying in mixed media, scratching and sanding back multiple times, resulting in a patina that suggests both the action of time and multiple stories interacting. Some pieces are based on the five lines of a musical stave, suggesting the two experiences of music and land superimposed upon each other, generating unique sets of rhythms and vibrations. A preoccupation with traces, fragments, exposure and erasure all work to pose a question about identity. As a way of countering the over-saturation of our lives with screen-based images, John is increasingly concerned with the finished painting as a physical and tactile artefact. Many of his pieces invite touch, recalling the visceral inspiration of their beginnings, and some are finished with a wax varnish to enable this type of engagement.




     

Work for sale
£35 - £6000 Cards and cash accepted.

Visiting information
Park near the Crown by the village green. Mill Lane is opposite the butchers and Swan Inn pub.

Place to eat
Elliotts Coffee Shop, The Crown Inn, The Swan Inn, The Mulberry Inn.

Transport Details
Nearest train station is Witley (2.8 miles).

Area
South
Featured on Artist Trail
Hambledon and Surrounding Villages

Marlow Cottage, Mill Lane, Chiddingfold, Surrey, GU8 4SJ

Telephone: 07775 584572

  • Saturday 1 June 2024 Closed
  • Sunday 2 June 2024 Closed
  • Monday 3 June 2024 Closed
  • Tuesday 4 June 2024 Closed
  • Wednesday 5 June 2024 Closed
  • Thursday 6 June 2024 Closed
  • Friday 7 June 2024 Closed
  • Saturday 8 June 2024 Closed
  • Sunday 9 June 2024 Closed
  • Monday 10 June 2024 Open
  • Tuesday 11 June 2024 Open
  • Wednesday 12 June 2024 Open
  • Thursday 13 June 2024 Open
  • Friday 14 June 2024 Open
  • Saturday 15 June 2024 Open
  • Sunday 16 June 2024 Open
  • Monday 17 June 2024 Closed
  • Tuesday 18 June 2024 Closed
  • Wednesday 19 June 2024 Closed
  • Thursday 20 June 2024 Closed
  • Friday 21 June 2024 Closed
  • Saturday 22 June 2024 Closed
  • Sunday 23 June 2024 Closed

John Worth

1 Mill Ln, Chiddingfold, Godalming GU8 4SH, UK

View Studio


Artists at this Studio

John Worth

Abstract Painter, Photographer


Workshops at this Studio

Artist Talk: Landscape, Music & Mark-Making