Sarah Cox – sjcoxart

https://surreyopenstudios.org.uk/wp-content/uploads/2020/12/20200612_114250-1-2-600x600.jpg

I am at my happiest when outside and walking the landscape. As a regular walker, I love to take in the seasons and how they create an ever changing landscape. Be it wind, sun, hail or fog, it’s often the weather conditions along with smells, colours and textures that evoke the mood of a moment. Landscapes link to memories, so when I am in a field with crops and hedgerows, I am immediately transported back into childhood; cycling the narrow country lanes and blackberry picking. Just like the smell of cut grass, rain on dry earth and sea spray; the aim of my paintings is to transport you, the viewer, to your happy place.  Like the patina of time, my work is multi-layered and built up and scraped back over time. Base layers are often revealed in part and this adds both depth and textural variety to my outcomes. I like to contrast elements of tight, structured paint work with loose, atmospheric washes and gestural marks. Colour and texture are both dominant elements in my paintings. Expect to see a mixture of sweeping brush strokes, palette knife work, dripping paint, scratched back surfaces and washy pools of paint. My favourite places to walk and sketch here in the United Kingdom include the Surrey Hills, Cornwall (St. Ives), the Lake District, Suffolk and Somerset.




              

Work for sale
Original paintings and lino prints £145 - £950. Greeting cards and bone china mugs are also available for purchase £2.50 - £15. Cash accepted. Payment can be taken via debit and credit cards. (Izettle card reader)

Visiting information
Refreshments will be provided on arrival eg. prosecco or squash. Covid friendly: One way system operated through the gallery space. French doors open for full ventilation. Track and trace in operation. Hand sanitiser and masks provided for visitors.

Place to eat
All 3 offer alfresco dining: The Queen's Head in East Clandon (5 mins by car) https://www.queensheadeastclandon.co.uk/ The Onslow Arms in West Clandon (7 mins by car) https://www.onslowarmsclandon.co.uk/ The Ivy, Guildford https://theivyguildford.com/

Transport Details
Nearest train station - London Road station in Guildford (15 mins walk).

Area
West
Featured on Artist Trail
Nick Pyne
Merrow_art_trail

49 Merrow Woods
Merrow
Guildford
Surrey
GU1 2LQ

Telephone: 07832259595

  • Saturday 5th June Open
  • Sunday 6th June Open
  • Monday 7th June Closed
  • Tuesday 8th June Closed
  • Wednesday 9th June Closed
  • Thursday 10th June Closed
  • Thursday 10th June (Evening) Closed
  • Friday 11th June Closed
  • Saturday 12th June Open
  • Sunday 13th June Open
  • Monday 14th June Closed
  • Tuesday 15th June Closed
  • Wednesday 16th June Closed
  • Thursday 17th June Closed
  • Thursday 17th June (Evening) Closed
  • Friday 18th June Closed
  • Saturday 19th June Closed
  • Sunday 20th June Closed

Sarah Cox - sjcoxart

52 Merrow Woods, Guildford GU1 2LH, UK

View Studio


Artists at this Studio