The Big Sky Studio

https://i0.wp.com/surreyopenstudios.org.uk/wp-content/uploads/2022/03/IMG_1899.jpeg?resize=480%2C480&ssl=1

I have been a professional graphic designer for over 30 years, and my painting style and subject matter very much reflect that experience, so that even though I try to break away from the controlled lines and palettes of my professional life, I think it is often still there in my work!

When working in watercolour, I frequently choose subjects taken from the many photographs I take when out and about in the Surrey and Suffolk countrysides, or walks along the coastal paths of the West Country, as well as a few ’en plein air’ works that I create when the weather is nice and time allows 🙂

For a change or contrast, I draw on my interests of guitars, cars, architecture and history, particularly when I put down the paintbrush and return to the Mac to create art works in a vector-graphic style using Adobe Illustrator. I am someone who has been a life-long  fan of Hergé and Tintin and his bold and simple graphic style is something I try to emulate.

My garden studio is therefore a mix of workplace and creative space where I can happily switch between the commercial graphic design that currently pays the bills, and the self-generated creative work that I hope may become my future profession!




        

Work for sale
- Framed and unframed originals will be available, priced between £100.00 and £250.00 - I will have high quality digital prints of many of my paintings and graphic work available to buy, with prices between £20.00 and £50.00 - There is also a selection if greetings cards and postcards available as individuals or in sets, prices between £2.00 and £10.00 - I can take payment vis cash or credit/debit card

Visiting information
The studio is relatively small, and a working space and although I hope to put up a gazebo for some additional display space, capacity will realistically only be a maximum of 6 people at a time. The studio is in the back garden, accessed by steps, path and across grass.

Place to eat
Nearby is Georgie's Kitchen on The Square in Onslow Village. Alternatively we are only a 15 minute walk from Guildford town centre.

Transport Details
The 18, 46 and 65 buses from Guildford bus station stop on the Farnham road opposite the entrance to Friars Gate. Friars Gate is a 10-minute walk up the Farnham Road from Guildford mainline railway station

Area
South
West

17 Friars Gate
Guildford
Surrey
GU2 7PQ

Telephone: 07515393096

  • Saturday 11th June Open
  • Sunday 12th June Open
  • Monday 13th June Closed
  • Tuesday 14th June Closed
  • Wednesday 15th June Closed
  • Thursday 16th June Open
  • Friday 17th June Open
  • Saturday 18th June Open
  • Sunday 19th June Open
  • Monday 20th June Closed
  • Tuesday 21st June Closed
  • Wednesday 22nd June Closed
  • Thursday 23rd June Open
  • Friday 24th June Open
  • Saturday 25th June Open
  • Sunday 26th June Open

The Big Sky Studio

17 Friars Gate, Guildford, Surrey GU2 7PQ

View Studio


Artists at this Studio