Jill Spain – Christmas Pie Creations

https://saos2023.s3-accelerate.amazonaws.com/wp-content/uploads/2024/01/saos-green-one-600x600.jpg

I have designed and created many things: jewellery, greetings cards and ceramics and I’ve dabbled in even more: alcohol art, resin work, calligraphy and I am sure there are even more gorgeous crafts for me to try.   For the last five years I have been designing and creating mosaic work – how did I not discover this beautiful way of creating art a long time ago?  I love it.   Hard to believe, as it often involves smashing tiles and slate, but I find it very relaxing.  Most of my work is made with a specific plan in mind, but occasionally I just let the design do what it wants.  I love curves and occasionally let the tiles dictate how they want to be placed – this could be with wavy lines, circles or a large piece of slate added to create a very different shape or design.

I create pieces that can be displayed inside as well as in the garden.  My outside pieces can be hung in trees, placed on poles to catch the sunshine or put on walls.  I always have a range of Christmas mosaic items ready or some that I am working on: Christmas trees, snowmen and penguins are my favourites.  I use a variety of materials: ceramic and glass tiles, slate, old jewellery, beads, wood, crushed glass and glitter and love to try different materials to see how they look.

BBCTV South visited my studio in December to film me working; this was part of a series of Christmas-themed programmes that went out in December 2024.  Great fun and a bit nerve-wracking too.

My open studio will have lots of indoor and outside pieces and if you see one that you like, but would like it in a different colour, that’s exciting, so please ask.

A LATE CHANGE TO MY OPENING SCHEDULE: MY APOLOGIES IF YOU WERE PLANNING A VISIT, BUT MY STUDIO WILL BE CLOSED ON MONDAY, 10 JUNE AND WILL RE-OPEN AS ADVERTISED ON THURSDAY, 13 JUNE 2024.




        

Work for sale
Mosaic prices range from £25.00 - £400.00 Greetings cards: £2.00 - £4.00

Visiting information
My studio is situated in my back garden. Access is via a gate to the left-hand-side of the property. Wheelchair access is not possible, as the gate is too narrow, but the garden is on one level so walking is not difficult.

Place to eat
The Normandy Community Shop & Cafe is open Monday - Saturday and the kitchen is open from 9.00 am - 2.00 pm. It is within walking distance, and there is also plenty of free parking available.

Transport Details
Appx 3-minutes walk from Wanborough Station, which connects with Guildford main line station

Area
West

12 Christmas Pie Avenue, Normandy, Guildford, Surrey, GU3 2EG

Telephone: +447411773692

  • Saturday 1 June 2024 Open
  • Sunday 2 June 2024 Open
  • Monday 3 June 2024 Open
  • Tuesday 4 June 2024 Closed
  • Wednesday 5 June 2024 Closed
  • Thursday 6 June 2024 Open
  • Friday 7 June 2024 Open
  • Saturday 8 June 2024 Open
  • Sunday 9 June 2024 Open
  • Monday 10 June 2024 Closed
  • Tuesday 11 June 2024 Closed
  • Wednesday 12 June 2024 Closed
  • Thursday 13 June 2024 Open
  • Friday 14 June 2024 Open
  • Saturday 15 June 2024 Open
  • Sunday 16 June 2024 Open
  • Monday 17 June 2024 Closed
  • Tuesday 18 June 2024 Closed
  • Wednesday 19 June 2024 Closed
  • Thursday 20 June 2024 Open
  • Friday 21 June 2024 Open
  • Saturday 22 June 2024 Open
  • Sunday 23 June 2024 Open

Jill Spain - Christmas Pie Creations

12 Christmas Pie Avenue, Flexford, Normandy, Guildford, Surrey GU3 2EG, UK

View Studio


Artists at this Studio