The Old Well Studio

https://saos2023.s3-accelerate.amazonaws.com/wp-content/uploads/2024/01/IMG_2914-1-2-600x600.jpg

Abstract oil paintings on gesso panels, varying in size from very small (15cm x 15cm )to very large ( 4ft x 4ft ). Monotypes using chine colle/collage technique.

The pieces are always driven by colour and the way a thin strip or small patch of a vivid tone can be balanced against a larger more muted area.  They are often a response to a landscape but not a literal depiction, more a suggestion of space and an atmosphere that is created.  In some places the oil paintings are worked into with a cloth and colours can appear luminous, almost like a section of textile given the warp and weft texture of the gesso strips the surface is made from. The application of transparent and opaque layers is present in both paintings and monotypes.  In the monotypes the scrim adds to the obvious textile quality as well as the meandering lines of cotton thread.




           

Work for sale
Prices range from £40 - £2000

Visiting information
Driveway will take 2/3 vehicles. An alternative if busy is the parking beside Wonersh and Shamley Green School very close-by.

Place to eat
The Forge on the Green at Shamley Green, The Red Lion Pub.

Transport Details
Bus stop ( for buses 53 & 63 )close to the studio - approx 100metres away.

Area
South

The Old Well Cottage studio
Guildford Rd,
Shamley Green,
Surrey,
GU50RS

Telephone: 07971016325

  • Saturday 1 June 2024 Open
  • Sunday 2 June 2024 Open
  • Monday 3 June 2024 Closed
  • Tuesday 4 June 2024 Closed
  • Wednesday 5 June 2024 Closed
  • Thursday 6 June 2024 Closed
  • Friday 7 June 2024 Closed
  • Saturday 8 June 2024 Open
  • Sunday 9 June 2024 Open
  • Monday 10 June 2024 Closed
  • Tuesday 11 June 2024 Closed
  • Wednesday 12 June 2024 Open
  • Thursday 13 June 2024 Closed
  • Friday 14 June 2024 Closed
  • Saturday 15 June 2024 Open
  • Sunday 16 June 2024 Open
  • Monday 17 June 2024 Closed
  • Tuesday 18 June 2024 Open
  • Wednesday 19 June 2024 Closed
  • Thursday 20 June 2024 Closed
  • Friday 21 June 2024 Closed
  • Saturday 22 June 2024 Closed
  • Sunday 23 June 2024 Closed

The Old Well Studio

Shamley Green, Guildford GU5 0RS, UK

View Studio


Artists at this Studio

Soizick Freeman

Painter, Print-maker


Workshops at this Studio

Printmaking Workshop: Monotype and Monoprinting